Posted by: Sibu Vaz | June 22, 2007

Sciencing all the way for Pre-University students

 dsc00722.jpg

My long lost friend Rebecca suddenly called me and said she would like to use theatre for teaching Physics. I needed to be truthful to myself. I’m not one who excelled or was interested in science, but innovation, theatre etc are words that turn me on.

As I sat to listen to her my thoughts were racing. How can science and theatre go together? What will impress the science in me? As I continued listening to her and her science co-ordinator Deepa, one word caught my attention. Deepa was trying to explain that the new buzzword in the science world is Sciencing. I realized I had found the missing link to my scientific theatre temperament. We decided to work on a presentation called Sciencing all the way.

Now that I was hooked on – my next logical question was – What do you want me to do? I was told by Rebecca and Deepa that the Pre-University science students (more than 900 in number) needed to be awakened to the magic of science with a 10-minute presentation during the inauguration of the scheduled Science forum.

As a first step we identified 60 students who were willing to join in this scientific and dramatic journey. During the first discussion itself we decided that it would be interesting to inspire the students with the life and stories of Indian scientists. We did a Google search and came out with five names of Indian scientists. Next we got all the 60 students to think on how would they approach this concept dramatically. We were flooded with ideas and the spark of science was lit for these 60 assembled students.

From then on the ideas flowed from concept to execution. My colleagues Arif, Umesh and Geetha grasped the concept with open arms. A Kalam actor emerged to voice the scientific temperament of the nation. Ramanujam came to life as numbers falling from the roof of the stage. Homi J Bhaba’s story was portrayed as a story told by students as sub-atomic particles. Sir C V Raman came colourfully with students creating the effect of an 8 feet prism dispersing white light into its magical seven colours.

Subrahmanyam Chandrashekar’s story was narrated by twinkling stars created by girls with starry gloves. Vikram Sarabhai was elevated as a rocket scientist as students formed a human pyramid with an Indian flag. The Kalam actor exhorted the audience to take up the challenge of Vision 2020. 15 minutes of stage time whisked by.

Mr N Mukunda eminent scientist from IISc – the chief guest for the occasion was pleasantly surprised by the presentation. 900 students watched the presentation amidst claps of awe. The scientific temperament of the gathering was awakened.

A special song written by Rajesh P I for the occasion brought the curtains down. I suppose all readers can try giving a tune to the same song and enhance their musical ability the sciencing way.

We are sciencing
Living, Breathing, Sharing, Dreaming
Fluids, Compounds, Mixtures
Space, Time and Relativity
The Cell, Nucleus and Membranes
From Pi to infinity
We are sciencing all the way.

A fallen flower, a broken branch
The rising sun
The enveloping monsoon,
Home made chocolates
And lots of fun
We are sciencing all the way.

In a sciencing world
Where India is finally poised
Globally recognised
Our I.T is king
In Health care we’re emerging
In steel second to none
Our infrastructure booming
Our skylines changing
This is our century – the great Indian century
We are sciencing all the way.

– Sibu Vaz


Leave a comment

Categories